Blondies

Chocolate chip blondies

Chocolate chip blondies

Matt and I were flipping through the tv one night- and there was this dude on there baking cakes and other pretty yummy looking cakes and desserts. It was on pbs and that was about all I knew, but I knew I needed the recipe for these things he was making. Matt went to the internet and figured it out. It was called Everyday Baking, Matt found a recipe for Blondies and requested I make them. So last Friday before I went to meet my mom, I threw them together. Making them was easy, but I wish I knew how my oven would handle because the sides were a little dark and hard. My oven is gas now – I am used to electric. I guess I should have watched them a little better. The recipe said 40-45 mins so I put them in for 40 and figured I’d be ok…I think they would have been perfect at 35.

Ingredients

1 stick butter melted

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 tsp salt

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1 cup chopped walnuts (I left these out)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350

line an 8 inch square baking pan with parchment paper leaving an over hang on 2 sides. Spray paper and pan with Pam (or butter it)

IMG_2784

In a large bowl- whisk butter and sugar until smooth, then whisk in egg and vanilla.

butter , sugar, egg and vanilla

butter , sugar, egg and vanilla

Add flour and salt and mix until moistened.

flour added

flour added

Fold in chocolate chips saving a little for the top (Walnuts too if using them)

IMG_2787

Put in pan and sprinkle with a little more chocolate chips.

sprinkled with choc chips and ready to cook

sprinkled with choc chips and ready to cook

Bake until golden brown 40-45 mins (or 35 depending – just watch them)

IMG_2789

Set pan on wire rack to cool. When cook remove with parchment paper and cut into 16 squares.

IMG_2791IMG_2792

These were good – I wish we could have had more than 4 or 5. I will be making them again. Maybe I can find the recipe for the topping they use on the blondies at Applebees and I can have my old roommate Carol, and her NJ friends over. That’s what blondies remind me of. Applebees with Carol and Zanzibar Scuf(Sigh I miss college) They were very easy to make. Plus I love my kitchen so I want to spend more time it in. 😀


Explore posts in the same categories: Desserts

3 Comments on “Blondies”

  1. rickykelley Says:

    These look so good, and so does that Mexican Lasagna…making me hugry…

  2. Carol Says:

    Yes!!! Blondies from Applebees…but yours looks WAY better. All you need is the side of splooge and it’ll be perfect!! I’m coming over and eating your next batch =)

    Love you!

  3. mema Says:

    I am sure you remembered to lower the temperature because of the type pan you were using. From the looks of the pictures the must have been tasty.


Leave a Reply

